

MEETING AGENDA

Chemiexcitation in Human Disease & Aging

February 12-15, 2017 The Banbury Center, Lloyd Harbor, New York

This meeting was organized by Douglas Brash, Yale University Etelvino Bechara, University of São Paulo & Federal University of São Paulo

and generously funded by the LEO Foundation, with additional support from Sāo Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP), and L'Oréal

SUNDAY, FEBRUARY 12

- Afternoon Arrivals and check-in at Robertson House
 - 6:00 pm Reception and dinner

MONDAY, FEBRUARY 13

7:15 am	Breakfast
8:30 am	Welcoming Remarks Jan Witkowski, The Banbury Center
8:35 am	SESSION 1: Overview – A New Mode of Pathogenesis Chairperson: Douglas Brash, Yale University
	Douglas Brash, Yale University Etelvino Bechara, University of São Paulo & Federal University of São Paulo
10:15 am	SESSION 2: Excited States and Chemiexcitation Chairperson: John-Stephen Taylor, Washington University

Bern Kohler, Ohio State University Lluis Blancafort, University of Girona Wilhem Joseph Baader, University of São Paulo



11:50 amPLENARY DISCUSSIONModerators: Douglas Brash, Yale University; Etelvino Bechara, University of São Paulo &

Federal University of São Paulo

- 12:45 pm Luncheon
- 2:00 pm SESSION 3: Before the Excited State The Ingredients Chairperson: Kelly George, L'Oréal

Helmut Sies, Heinrich Heine University Tadeusz Sarna, Jagiellonian University

- 3:15 pm PLENARY DISCUSSION Moderator: Luigi Zecca, National Research Council of Italy
- 4:15 pm SESSION 4: After the Excited State The Weapon Chairperson: Graham Timmins, University of New Mexico

Erick Bastos, University of São Paulo Tadeusz Sarna, Jagiellonian University Georg Wondrak, University of Arizona

- 5:20 pm PLENARY DISCUSSION Moderator: Beth Gaillard, Northern Illinois University
- 6:15 pm Reception and dinner

TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 14

- 7:15 am Breakfast
- 8:30 am SESSION 5: Diseases of Tissues Containing Melanocytes Chairperson: Tadeusz Sarna, Jagiellonian University

Jeffrey Shupp, MedStar Health Research Institute Jennifer O'Malley, Harvard Medical School Beth Gaillard, Northern Illinois University

9:30 am PLENARY DISCUSSION Moderator: Tadeusz Sarna, Jagiellonian University



10:30 am SESSION 6: Diseases of Tissues Containing Neuromelanin Chairperson: Jose Costa, Yale University Witold Surewicz, Case Western Reserve University David Sulzer, Columbia University Alexander Vortmeyer, Indiana University School of Medicine

- 12:00 pm PLENARY DISCUSSION Moderator: Jose Costa, Yale University
- 12:45 pm Luncheon

2:00 pm SESSION 7: Assembling Pathways

Chairpersons: Douglas Brash, Yale University; Kelly George, L'Oréal; and Jose Costa, Yale University

Guidance for Breakout Groups Breakout Groups Breakout Groups Reporting

- 4:10 pm SESSION 8: Blocking the Pathways Chairperson: Bern Kohler, Ohio State University Helmut Sies, Heinrich Heine University Wilhelm Joseph Baader and Erick Bastos, University of São Paulo Lluis Blancafort, University of Girona
- 5:25 pm PLENARY DISCUSSION Moderator: John-Stephen Taylor, Washington University
- 6:15 pm Reception and dinner

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 15

7:15 am Breakfast

8:30 am SESSION 9: The Précis

Chairpersons: David Sulzer, Columbia University; and Douglas Brash, Yale University

Guidance for Breakout Groups Breakout Groups Breakout Groups Reporting



11:15 am PLENARY DISCUSSION

Chairpersons: Douglas Brash, Yale University; Etelvino Bechara, University of São Paulo & Federal University of São Paulo

Next Steps; Final Thoughts

12:15 pm Luncheon; Participant Departures

PARTICIPANTS

- Josef Baader, University of São Paulo
- Erick Bastos, University of São Paolo
- Etelvino Bechara, University of São Paulo & Federal University of São Paulo
- Lluís Blancafort, University of Girona
- Douglas Brash, Yale University
- Jose Costa, Yale University
- Elizabeth Gaillard, Northern Illinois University
- Kelly George, L'Oréal
- Bern Kohler, Ohio State University
- Jennifer O'Malley, Harvard Medical School
- Tadeusz Sarna, Jagiellonian University
- Jeffrey Shupp, MedStar Health Research Institute
- Helmut Sies, Heinrich Heine University
- David Sulzer, Columbia University
- Witold Surewicz, Case Western Reserve University
- John-Stephen Taylor, Washington University
- Graham Timmins, University of New Mexico
- Alexander Vortmeyer, Indiana University School of Medicine
- Georg Wondrak, University of Arizona
- Luigi Zecca, National Research Council of Italy